Trick or cheat

Angie off riding while Flash and I did an Ottobeuren walk. Needed to check out a supermarket for a certain brand of German sweets to send to the British Isles: ultimate destination Republic of Ireland but being sent via England. Seemingly now there are border and custom checks for the Republic being carried out in Worthing to ensure that later, if reimported via Belfast, they are UK approved and customs taxes paid. I'm getting lost in all these new rules. Just as I was to see a very English, Union Jack emblazoned, packet of Wine Gums with the inscription "Made in the EU, outside of Great Britain". I have never seen that "warning" on any item ever before. At home checked out a packet of Wine Gums from Aldi's last "Taste of British Isles" promotion only to find them marked "Made after a traditional English recipe, in Germany". Topped off my shopping with only having Worcester Sauce on offer from a German manufacturer.

So to cheer myself up stopped off at the Pumpkin to see what was available. Liked the idea of a "Microwave Pumpkin" (see extra photo) but was troubled by the potential anger from Angie when she had to clean it up. Went for one that apparently comes from Japan and will add it to the pile of green tomatoes, apples and raisins to make a type of chutney. I won't yet again rant about the lack of Branston pickles on German supermarket shelves, even if it bugs me more than Brexit.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.