FR254 Deliverance

11.9C starting with rain then there was a bright sunny spell late morning. Then heavy squally showers, clearing through the afternoon. W/WNW wind to 33 mph with gusts to 48 mph.

Apothecary7's day off. Since it was raining in the morning Apothecary7 did some painting in her studio.

We went to Glenbarr for lunch and afterwards bought a Verbena plant in their plant sale. 50% off. We were hoping to get a walk on Westport beach on the way home. The squalls were frequent and heavy so we decided not to get Maeve the Deerhound soaked. We did stop on the way home at the Farm Stall at Bellochantuy for local eggs, their own Basil and Sundried Tomato Pork sausages, and some shortbread which wasn't the shape of pigs today but in the shape of Pumpkins. The pumpkin field next to the Farm Stall looks to have a good crop and some Pumpkins were on display outside the shop and for sale inside.

When we got home it was dry so we planted the Verbena right away in a spot was can see from the kitchen window and the studio. I added plenty of compost and some blood, fish, and bone meal to the planting hole.

I decided to go for a walk so I waited for a squall to blow over and then wandered along by Aquilibrium and  round by the harbour. Deacon Blue (Believers) on the Clip. From the head of the loch I got this shot of the fishing boat Deliverance sitting at the old quay. The light was too good to miss. Between the old and new quays there were lots of Eider ducks floating around and on the little slipway by the new quay Seagulls were hanging around. Abis Belfast was still moored on one side of the new quay and the cargo ship Burhoui was being loaded with wood on the other side where the CalMac linkspan is situated.

I went past the harbour and the ferry terminal and along the shore path in the long narrow park just as far as the cemetery before I turned round and came home. I was hoping that I would miss more rain and I got home dry. The squall I watched go by before I set off might even have been the last one to come across town today.

Afternoon music ... Van Morrison, Keep Me Singing.
How many times can Apothecary7 play one CD in a day !
She has certainly kept him singing !
(I won't be having this one on the Clip tomorrow)

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/1600 sec. ISO-80 16mm (35mm focal length 94mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.