A River Rules my Life

This was one of Nana's favourite books.

Mona Anderson's home was Mount Algidus, one of the great high-country sheep stations of Canterbury. It occupies a mountain range between 2 rivers and lies in the shadow of the Southern Alps. The link above is worth a read.

A River Rules My Life was published in 1963 and ran to nine editions and reprints.

I don't remember when Nana gave me the book. I think I was at university. I recycle many books donating them to the annual charity book fair, but the special ones remain with me.

It's been many years since I read this book. It's a cracker and as I read I think of locations next door to Mount Algidus Station.

My kind of country. If I can't be there I may as well read about the mountains. There is even an account of an earthquake in the book, strong enough to collapse shelves in the kitchen and sadly kill the cat beneath them.

Good news. I had a call from the EQR Priority Hub (Earthquake Rebuild?) this afternoon. A tradesman will be assigned to do something about my roof and will contact me before the end of the week.

Still raining but you'll know that from all the other Canterbury blippers ;-)

Better go, Dad wants to phone me about my roof.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.