What did I see today...?

By DaveR

What a difference...

3 years makes - no utter downpour this time, no mud chutes throwing unwary pilgrims down gullies, maybe a little bit more cow (it mostly washed away last time) but I didn't mind the smell compared to the drenching I endured in this stage last time.

Yes, we're back on Brierley measurements, so by that I should be in Santiago on the 25th of October.

But today was less focused on what's ahead as what was beside, as I saw a great deal of spectacular scenery that was just lost in rain and thick grey cloud last time around. I even took a moment at the alto of San Roque this time (see extra shot) whereas I don't even remember seeing him in the other side of the road last time!

The descent down to Triacastella was still a little tricky, even in the dry, but I walked down with Jenny (another adoptive member of Team Canada) and Robin - and we're all in the same hostel as well as they booked into the fantastic one that I sheltered in last time with Owen & Co. - a very wise choice!

Sarria beckons tomorrow, and with it the influx of the 100k pilgrims (the minimum distance to be eligible for a compostela in Santiago is such, and Sarria lies just over the borderline)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.