Untitled - 24 by 36 inches

I continued working on my new painting in open studio today. It is of the lobby of the building where we paint. I love all the shadows and bands of light that form. In this case some large shades were down on the big windows and that caused the unusual narrow bands of light that move from the right to the left. I love this kind of scene and have taken photos for years. Only recently have I realized the same subject makes for an interesting painting too.

Helena met me after class and we got home before Arvin. Steve came over and he and I played a game of Carcassonne while Helena read to Arvin. I lost again. This is getting a bit old. Steve likes closer games too. They are more fun. Today he was ahead by over 100 points.

I made a quick dinner for us all so that we would be ready to watch the last presidential debate. This time there seemed to be more talk of issues and less sniping though there was still quite a bit of rancor. The thing that surprised me the most was when Trump refused to indicate whether he would accept the result if he lost the race. That is scary stuff! What does he expect to do, have a revolution? I am still flabbergasted that we somehow managed to arrive at this weird place in our election. I just cannot fathom how Trump could ever get this far. I hope that he really is doing as poorly as it seems he should. I do try to stay out of politics but this man is scary and dangerous to me. We do not need a narcissist who has so little respect for our democratic process as Trump seems to. Yikes.

The extra photos are one of our deck squirrels who has figured out how to jump up on one of the hanging seed blocks to grab a bit and then jump back down again. I watched him do it several times. the light was low so these are pretty grainy photos, but I just had to put them up because I found the squirrel's antics so amusing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.