Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

A flash at the Flash!

Now I am up to date with viewing everyone's journal I can finally get round to posting today's blip.
I had a very colourful morning at Pennington Flash. There was very little breeze, so perfect for a walk and some bird spotting. They have 7 hides where you can sit and watch.
The first hide had 5 people in it already, 4 with long lenses, so I knew they were watching something - turned out to be a kingfisher. Binoculars in hand, I had a great view but it was far too distant for my little lens, but what a great start!
There were also gadwall ducks and a pair of colourful widgeon which I have never come across before either.
The next hide was nothing to write home about, just a few ducks!
Bunting hide is one of my favourites as it is where they feed the woodland birds and affords quite close up views. Today we saw the bright red breasts of the robin, the vibrant pink of the bullfinch and the blue/yellow of the blue tit. Along with great tits, chaffinches, greenfinch and elusive, but noisy wren, it was a successful visit.
On my way back to the car, I headed into my final hide of the day and again there were people watching a kingfisher in the distance.
It flew from post to post and got gradually closer, and finally it was just about in range - not quite as crisp as I'd like, but just about acceptable I think. Two kingfishers in one day - how lucky is that!?
I've spent an enjoyable evening reviewing journals and Strictly, so now I feel like I am on track again.

Hope everyone has had a great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.