Circus On The Circuit

I went to Blue House Farm nature reserve, in the marshes on the northern bank of the River Crouch, for the first time today. I had a look at the map on a sign in the car park, got my bearings and decided to walk right round the perimeter. I entered the first two hides I came across but didn't see anything more exciting than a heron. The fleets were surprisingly empty of birdlife.

I nearly missed the third hide which was tucked away. I had it to myself, just like the other two. I had hardly clambered onto the high seat when a pair of marsh harriers came into view. I've captured them on the Bradwell marshes before but from a distance. Obviously I would have preferred it if these had come closer but it was a thrill to see and photograph them hunting.

I really enjoyed my day under the big Essex sky and loved it that for most of the time I was completely alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.