Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Closing ceremony

"The problem with putting two and two together is that sometimes you get four, and sometimes you get twenty-two."

Dashiell Hammett, "The Thin Man"


How do you come down from a high? What's the legacy? Questions obsessing a nation and obessing me, for two different reasons.

Arrived at Heathrow at 6.30 am and was home by 7.45 which was easy. A muddlin' day of jet lag, washing, bit of sleep, supermarket shopping, going through the holiday pics, entertaining the Yoga Mama and watching (between these things) the incredibly long and often absorbing and fun closing ceremony of the Olympics (which we didn't see over the pond as NBC didn't cover it in the 'States - honestly ...). Actually TSM didn't sleep - has just gone to bed after 33 hours of being awake ...

So home again and feeling ... thoughtful ... so turned to the fridge for inspiration, and here it is.

I shall let it speak for itself, but just to note: a holiday is only a holiday, unless of course you are a time in your life when it makes you think about what really matters. Mid-life crisis plus a different perspective might - just might - mean a different way ahead. Dashiell Hammett (and this is my kindle book of the moment, set in the colourful New York of the 1930s) has summed it up: you can put two and two together in more ways than one. Which is very much Nick Charles' forte for solving crimes.

I do know I can't go on the way I have been most of this year so here are some of the answers - if I choose to listen to myself ... We'll see...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.