Hawk-Eye

It's been great having a 3 day weekend. It's meant I could really make a dent with sorting and progressing towards shifting out for my second earthquake repair. That's assuming the Earthquake Commission doesn't continue changing rules on me. I remain positive, or when that seems a bit hard I try to ride the rough moments and live with hope.

The drinks cabinet that homes a few other things got the clean and sort treatment today. This magical Kodak Hawk-Eye camera belonged to my Great Aunty Mamie. She died when I was 6 years old and I remember her well. She was delightful and I often visited her with Mum, and sometimes she baby sat us kids.

My older brother and sister were very naughty for her Auntie Mamie. I wasn't because I was just a bit young. She always told our parents we were good (which I'm sure was true of me ;-)

Auntie Mamie's love of her life was killed in WW1. She never married and was like another grandmother. One of her loves was photography. I think I've mentioned before that it's because of her we have so many photos of my Mum's childhood.

Mum talked about a box brownie camera too but I don't know where that is. I'm thrilled to have Hawk-Eye and I'm sure Aunty Mamie is too. It's a fitting blip as today I attended to a few admin things, including paying my blip membership.

I think I'll pack this along with the family clock and take them with me, rather than leave them to the vagaries of the packers and movers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.