The Last Leaf

Dear Diary,

The rain stopped but the wind started to blow and the leaves began to swirl.  It seemed as if everything was in motion.  Auntie's Tree is nearly bare now except for the little berries and this solitary red leaf.  The sun, which was in and out all day, just caught this leaf and lit it up against the grey twigs and branches and it just begged to be photographed.  Soon, all the trees will be like this, revealing their bare bones to the world.

Gaylord returned briefly yesterday but I wasn't quick enough to photograph him.  I will keep close watch for him now.  It won't be long now before he will be visiting regularly.  I can't wait.

The world is in transition now, its glory days nearly over.  It is time to retreat and rest.  I did a lot of resting yesterday and so did Emerson.  He loves his porch when the sun shines but soon it will be too chilly even for my furry little boy.   For me, my chair by the fire was just right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.