October Reflections

Dear Diary,

A dreary day of grey and mist but the still splendid trees cast soft reflections in the big pond up the road from me.  We needed the rain...we need so much more but I am thankful for what we did get.  Today will be a quiet day for Emerson and me.  I won't be able to make my trip to church because the car is acting up.  I will need to get it to my mechanic tomorrow and hope it isn't anything major.

I will putter around the house, read, perhaps watch a movie with Emerson asleep beside me.  I need the peace and quiet after my week of busyness!  It was all wonderful but I need some down time now and so I will make today a true sabbatical, a day of rest.  I thought this image was perfect for the tenor of the day.


Now Autumn's fire burns slowly along the woods and day by day the dead leaves fall and melt.                                  - William Allingham

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.