An Anniversary

Dear Diary,

My mother's parents were married on this day in 1912.  It was also my grandfather's 22nd birthday.  I've posted her wedding portrait before when I blipped the textile collage I made with it and I have their wedding book (extra photograph).  I thought today I would look at some of the objects I have from their life.

I became the caretaker for so many old family pieces.  Some will undoubtedly remain in the family, like my grandfather's lovely walnut table which he inherited from his grandfather.  The will, bequeathing it to my grandfather, is still in the drawer.  But many of the things I have are small, seemingly insignificant daily objects that may, unfortunately, disappear in time.

These objects, like the wooden box my grandfather made or the carving set we used every Thanksgiving that belonged to his father, the lovely glass from my grandmothers wedding presents (only two left of the set) and the pitcher from her every day dishes, the solitary monogrammed butter spreader that was her mother's and the jar opener which I use everyday, will probably go the way of so many old family pieces...either into yard sales or into drawers and cupboards, their stories lost,.

So, today on my grandparent's 103rd anniversary, I want to acknowledge them and these small remnants of their lives.  I will care for them, tell their stories and try to pass them on.  Lives are made up of such small and ordinary things but each reverberates with meaning and memory.  At least here, on the pages of this journal, they will live forever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.