Soul Cakes

Dear Diary,

Today I give a talk at our historical society on the history of Halloween.  During the talk I explain that the origins of our practice of "trick or treating" began with folks in the late Medieval period in England going  "Souling" on All Hallows Eve.  Visitors would sing and dance and the householders would offer them Soul Cakes, a kind of spiced shortbread, as a reward. (Extra photo of the finished product!)  In return, visitors would promise to pray for the souls of the departed.

I made some to pass out during my talk while we listen to Sting's wonderful rendition of the traditional folk song.  The round short breads are really delicious with a nice blend of spices and I added dried Blueberries to make them Maine Soul Cakes!  I'm sure you could also add raisins or currents.  We are entering the time of Samhaim, the Celtic end of season festival, and a time to honor our ancestors. It is especially poignant this year with my genealogical project nearing completion. Well, I hope it is nearing completion!  Genealogy can be a never ending enterprise!

(Yesterday's post was on family heirlooms and today I used my grandmother's pastry cutter to blend the butter and flour!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.