Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

An Exhibition at the Old Mill

Dear Diary,

Despite the nasty weather and this cold I woke up with, I dragged myself to the installation exhibit in the old mill in town, which has been deserted for 40 years. Amy Stacey Curtis started a series back in 1998 of these installations in deserted Maine mills...each centering on a theme. This one was Matter and is the 8th of 9 exhibits which will conclude in 2016.

I found it a fascinating experience to walk through two floors of the mill interacting with each of the nine parts of the exhibit. My favorite one was the linear labyrinth...a different take on the traditional form. Nine white squares equally spaced representing the nine stages of life. It was stunning to realize I was already half way between square 7 and 8!

The most fascinating part of this labyrinth is that when you got to the end and looked back it looked exactly the same...beginning or end. There was much to think about after that I can tell you. Glad I made the effort to see this illuminating exhibit that closes today. I couldn't help but think of a Confucius quote...

Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.