JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Barnt Green Road Quarry

The challenge of forever finding new subjects is one of the great things about blipfoto. Today's image is from a site only a mile away from home, in an area where I regularly walk, but though I have lived here for twelve years I never knew it was there. I am lucky because my wife has enthusiastically adopted the role of blip location researcher for me :-).

The blip shows the rock formations in the disused Barnt Green Road Quarry on the Lickey Hills. It was until recently overgrown, but has been restored as part of a Heritage Lottery Funded project by the Herefordshire & Worcestershire Earth Heritage Trust.

Several information boards at the site give a lot of information about the interesting geology of the Lickey Hills. The rocks in this image are of the Lickey Quartzite Formation which was laid down during the Ordovician period 488 million years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.