An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Here today...

Backblip

So, another early rise and after breakfast Ele, Kenny David and I got the very last items out of the kitchen, apart from my slow cooker, which was cooking a load of stew for the freezer, to see us over the next few weeks when the Aga will be out of commission.

Eleanor and Kenny left just after midday, but not before going round the living room covering everything in poly sheeting.  It won't keep all the dust at bay but will hopefully help reduce the mess.

David and I were absolutely exhausted and spent the bulk of the afternoon dozing.  Him on the couch and me in my chair.  What a pair of old fogies :-))

When it was bedtime I stopped by the kitchen to take some final photos.  My emotions were all over the place as whilst I am mega excited about the new kitchen, part of me is really sad at having to part with this one.

The first time we came to view the house I came into this kitchen and immediately felt at home.  The warm tones of the wood, the heat from the Aga, the shiny black granite that has proved to be such a great background for photos, all served to make me want to make this house my home.   I immediately felt I belonged here.

The previous owners of the house, Dawn and Mike, had spent 11 years lovingly restoring the place, returning it to its Victorian roots and putting lots of thought into finishes, including the tiles behind the Aga, a strip of which illustrated raspberries in a nod to one of  Perthshire's famous summer crops.  It really is the heart of the house.  And now we are about to rip it out!  :-0

It is almost five years since we got the keys to the house and in that time, we've made many happy memories in this kitchen.   I know there are lots of good times to be had in our new kitchen.  I just hope it still feels like the heart of our home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.