Contrasts

Why on earth would someone post a blip of an offensive corner between two buildings in central Edinburgh today when nature is resplendent in the sun with a dazzling display of russets and gold on the trees and grass sparkling with dew?

Why? Because sometimes the impact on the eye of a cameo of imperfection, vile textures and general decay decrees documentation which I can then dismiss as I wonder at the beauty outside the window.

Our book group takes it in turn for someone to recommend a book, and as luck would have it my turn is next.
Having been too busy knitting bears, rabbits, jumpers and a myriad of other distractions deemed by me more important at the moment than reading, I had come armed with the only book I thought of enough weight to satisfy the avid readers within the group. I hope 'We are all Completely Beside Ourselves' by Karen Joy Fowler, which was listed one year for the Booker Prize, will satisfy them. Please let it be so, although I am prepared to be shot down in flames next month.

It should be noted that the lime drizzle cake served last night with yogurt and mango was delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.