BRIDGES

Thanks for all the concern yesterday. Had a good nights sleep  (helped by codeine ).  Woke up with aches and pains where I didn't have them yesterday. Mainly in my right knee and right shoulder.  And the bruise under my right eye is a lovely shade of purple - you can see it HERE if you want ( but you probably don't )  However nothing was bothering me too much so I stuck to my plans and went out to Gateshead.  I headed for St Marys Heritage centre where there was an exhibition entitled " Retail Therapy - a trip through Gateshead's Shopping Past ".  I was disappointed as there really wasn't much there - just a few old photos.  Never mind. 

My grandparents actually owned a shop in the Gateshead area.  The only reason they could afford to own a shop was that they bought it using compensation money which my Grandad got from the firm he worked for.  He went deaf due to the noise in the Locomotive Works and he was paid enough compensation to buy an " Open All Hours " type of corner shop so he could continue to earn a living. He never seemed to do much connected with the shop as his deafness was a big problem. My Grandma was the main driving force but my Dad and my two Aunts were expected to lend a hand as much as possible. I remember spending many happy hours there when I was little.  It was a fascinating place with lots of rooms including a cellar and attic to explore.

The Heritage Centre is right next to The Sage ( a music venue ) so I popped in there to check out the Snowdogs and look around the shop.  Bought some Christmas gifts. Then I moved on to The Baltic Art Gallery where I went up to the viewing platform.  This is where I took my blip shot which shows The Millennium Bridge, The Tyne Bridge,The Swing Bridge and The High Level Bridge.  Its taken through glass so its not as clear as I would like.

Then I got the bus back to Gateshead town centre and did a bit of shopping.  ( Becky phoned but we couldn't really talk as I was using the " facilities " in Tesco at the time.  She is going to ring me tomorrow.)

This evening I have been listening to the football on the radio.  Newcastle were at home to Preston in a Cup match.  I decided not to go as I'm not keen on evening matches. Newcastle won 6 - 0.  Yes 6 - 0.  Wow.   ( And they play Preston again in a league match on Saturday.  So hopefully that will mean another 3 points for The Toon.)

Steps today - 8,621

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.