Retirement

or as I prefer to say.....my life taking another direction!!

We have both finished work today, Doug after 45 years as a Roading Engineer, me 25 years as a physio assistant/receptionist.  Its been one hell of a day, very emotional and exhausting.  

We are just home from Doug's big sendoff.  Held in one of the local taverns, with friends, colleagues, big bosses, workmates from many years ago, contractors etc.  Amazing speeches from many, some hilarious stories, tears and lots of laughter.  Dougs speech in reply was a credit to him, I was so proud of him.  He was obviously well respected and thought off.  

Me, well it has been a hard day in some respects but lovely also.  Lots of well wishes from our patients coming in.  We closed the practise and all went out for lunch.  Flowers, and huge and beautifully decorated cake, candles, cards, presents turned me into a blubbering mess.....mind you I wasn't alone.  Those girls are so special, they call me their "kiwi mum" as four of our five physio's are from UK, Ireland, Wales.  I will ofcourse see lots of them.

My blip is the paper Louise, one of our podiatrists, personally made with lovely little quotes & words.  Inside this specially prepared paper was a gorgeous snugly rug.

In two weeks I have my retirement party, so am working on my speech !!!

No viewing or commenting tonight......I am off for some Zzzzzz

Nite

Rainie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.