dreaming

By dreaming

I've had my say

I'm thrilled to be able to say that today I voted for a woman for President of the United State - a woman, moreover, whom I respect and admire and have supported since 2008.  Now I will try to step back and not think about the election for twelve days.  

Washington went to all mail-in voting quite a few years ago, and at first it was wonderful not to have to go out in a rainstorm, as we so often did, to vote where there wasn't adequate parking.  But I find I miss the hands-on democracy that those outings represented.  When I was a child (and election day was a public holiday), I used to love going with my parents when they voted.  I have a very clear memory of being in the junior high school cafeteria with sunshine pouring through the windows, waiting for their chance to vote, then walking home together with a sense of accomplishment.  Dropping a ballot into a big box at the library just isn't the same.  

The variety of languages on the ballot box gives some idea of the neighborhood in which I live - mostly Asian and African immigrants.  On election day, we celebrate our diversity as well as well as our values.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.