HONESTY

Slept well again and had a long lie in.  Spent some time looking through recipes for ideas of what to make for my slimming group " Taster Night " on Monday. We will be crowning our  Miss Slinky.  ( I have been nominated again.) 

Later on I walked down to the village and got the bus to Blaydon. I needed to go to Morrisons to  return a pack of tomatoes which I bought on Wednesday.  They were " manky ". I got my money back.

In case you aren't familiar with the word " manky " here is some info.....

Manky -  it's a regional word used  in various parts of the North of England and up in Scotland too. It has a whole range of meanings. When you hear somebody say " my torch is all manky ", it means it's not working properly, it's worthless, it's defective, it's a bit inferior. And then if people say " he's got manky socks"  or " that baby's nappy is manky" that means it's grimy or dirty, it might even be a bit smelly - that's another usage of the term. You could say " these bananas are manky " or " that dustbin is manky" - it means it's rotten, it's disgusting, it's got a smell of some kind.

Made sausage and lentil casserole for my tea.  It was lovely.

Neil and Rachael moved into their flat today.  One problem so far - no hot water.  Hope they sort that out before too long.

I have blipped some " Lunaria " seed pods which are in the back lane. The Latin name Lunaria means "moon-shaped" and refers to the shape and appearance of the seedpods. The common name "Honesty" arose in the 16th century, and may also relate to the translucence of the seedpods. In South East Asia, it is called the "money plant" and in the United States it is commonly known as "silver dollars", "Chinese money", or "Chinese coins" because its seedpods have the appearance of silvery coins.

### Looking forward to a blipmeet tomorrow.   Venue - The Cafe in the  Sage Gateshead at 11am.

Steps today - 8,435

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.