BLIPMEET AT 2PM

So I was standing at the bus stop to get the bus to Newcastle when this man rushed up and asked if there was a bus due.  I told him  " Yes " and thought that was the end of the conversation.  Turned out I was wrong - very wrong.  He said he hadn't travelled on a bus from Whickham for years.  Used to live here.  Went to school with Mike Neville's daughter.  I said " my brother went to school with Mike Nevilles daughter too ". ( Mike Neville ) So he asked what my brother was called.  Turns out he remembered him well.  Oh yes he said -  Colin was a fantastic artist.  He went on holiday with me to Brighton one time.  He did this, he did that..... and so on. Then the bus came.

He sat in the seat in front of me and we continued talking. He had lots of memories of Colin. I also found out more about this man's schooldays, his parents, his job at British Airways, his travels.  He gave me his e mail address in case my brother wanted to get in touch with him.  And then the bus reached Newcastle and he dashed off to a Beer Festival.

So after that bit of excitement there was more to come............... a blipmeet.  We met at the Central Station - a select group of five - Shygirl73,  walkingMarj60plus and inukshukne. We had a chat over coffee.

Then we walked to The Discovery Museum where we had an interesting mooch around until they " chucked " us out at 4pm - closing time.

Then we walked through Chinatown as 60 plus had never been there.  We found a branch of Costa near the football ground and settled down for another chat.

It was great to see everyone again.  A lovely bunch of blippers. Thanks to shygirl73 for organising it.

I decided to make a collage of my photos.  It shows the clock at the station, the four lovely blippers at the station, a stained glass window at The Discovery Museum and a panoramic shot of the Museum.

After we went our separate ways I went to Waitrose for a bit of food shopping.

The weather today was chilly and very very windy.

Steps today - 10,326

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.