Capital adventures

By marchmont

The ayes have it!

Working from home to catch up on backlog. But it was an exciting morning.

As an organisation we've been campaigning for ages to change the English law on homelessness. This year a Conservative MP,  Bob Blackman, came second in the ballot for private members bills and put forward the Homelessness Reduction Bill. We've been lobbying for weeks for the required 100 MPs to attend the 2nd reading which was this morning. So I woke to hear my colleague, Matt, on 'Today', then worked with the live debate on the TV behind me and tweeted as MPs of all parties voiced support. At the same time another colleague, Alice, was on 'Woman's Hour' with the wonderful Jenni Murray talking about how homelessness affects women, especially those who have to sleep rough. And with government support, the Bill passed! My amazing colleagues in London are over the moon and I am so proud to be associated with them.

I worked on and then in the evening I took mum, and surprisingly, dad, to the Bluebird Hallowe'en party. And I won wine in the raffle.  

One day,,2 results!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.