If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Autumn Larches.

Sunday!  A good lie in particularly as we had the extra hour.  The rest of the morning was very leisurely with Clickychick out with clients.  After lunch she was still out so I decided a walk was in order.

As I often do on these occasions I headed for the forest.  Rather than use the forest roads I always go for the little paths through the trees. Just as well the car park was full and everyone seemed to have at least one dog.

The walk went well with a great variety of fungi (I really must get down to learning more about them).  I did however find a couple of things disheartening.   The first was finding mountain bike tracks even of paths so narrow the trees were brushing each side of my shoulders.  Selfish I know but I wish they would leave some parts of the forest undisturbed for those of us who are seeking places where the wildlife hasn't been frightened away.

The second was somebody feels the need to tie bright orange tape to twigs at about 20 yard intervals.  All I can say about that is if they can't follow a path without that sort of help they have chosen the wrong recreation  or should have "gone to specsavers!

Sorry for the mini rant.  The shot is of the lovely autumn colour on the forest track which leads to the car park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.