St Michael at Plea, Norwich

Another of Norwich's redundant churches. I took this on a half hour walk around the block at lunchtime today. I liked the bikes, and the unusual name. It could easily be Cambridge with those bikes, don't you think?

I've googled it. Apparently it was where the Archdeacon of Norwich held his pleas, or courts. It was once called St Michael at Notstone. Equally as odd. There are so many churches in Norwich, I think they ran out of sensible straightforward names!

Work was busy and I got lots done. Unfortunately for my manager it means more checking. I'm sure he'd prefer it that way, than me twiddling my thumbs.

Home at 6 then straight out to get Mollie. Henry is in Cromer with his friend Fred. They are 'Trick or Treating'! At 14, perhaps it will be his last year. No one has knocked on our door, but that's no surprise. We are in a far lane where mostly older people, and empty holiday cottages live!

Hoping to do a little bit of writing before Victorian Slums comes on...if I can stay awake. That hour they gave me yesterday? They can have it back....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.