Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Candle in the wind

And it seems to me you lived your life
Like a candle in the wind
Never fading with the sunset
When the rain set in
-Elton John

When I thought about my brother-in-law today, these words came to my mind, for if I had to choose one word to describe him, it would be bright.  He was one of the most optimistic people I've ever known - to a fault at times, I suppose.  He filled a room when he entered - always laughing and always a hug and a kind word for everyone.  He was bigger than life in so many ways.  So, how incredibly unfair that his light is now out.

He leaves behind a brother (my Hubs), a sister, a wife of 36 years, two adult children, four grandchildren, 87 year old mother who's only safety net is failing memory, and a sister-in-law who loved him as the brother she never had.  We are all shattered.  He also leaves behind countless others who's lives he touched in his 57 years.  

When I saw him during my last visit to Alabama in May - my last words, as I hugged him goodbye were "love you, bro", whispered in his ear.  Don't ever let an opportunity to tell people you love them slip by...because you just never know.  Here's a photo from a happier time

I appreciate your kind and heartfelt words over the last few days and I'd ask now that you keep his wife, children, mother and siblings close in your thoughts and prayers, for theirs is the deepest hurt of all right now.

xo
Debbi  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.