Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Camera Therapy and Yard Bird #60

I knew shortly after I got up this morning that I was going to need some time outside, some camera therapy today.  There is a certain calmness that descends on me when I have a camera held to my eye, when I am seeing the world around me through the lens.  I can't really explain it other than that it brings me a sense of calmness and reduces whatever stress I may be feeling - I can forget all of the emotions and just ... be.  Does that make sense?

There were squirrels, chipmunks and birds all over the garden today, providing me with lots of smiles.  This medium sized sparrow is an immature White-crowned sparrow, the first I've ever recorded in our yard and the 60th yard bird I've photographed this year.  When he/she goes through the winter molt, bright black and white stripes will replace the brown and grey ones you see here.  Not sure what brought it to our yard, but it's spent all day around the feeders, seemingly very happy.

We had only a few trick-or-treaters last night and, as usual, I had over-purchased candy.  I did the right thing and put it all in the bin today - I certainly don't need to be eating it!  

A heavy frost last night left the leaves on the trees looking as if they'd been dipped in sugar.  Winter is coming...

Thank you so, so much for the heartfelt comments yesterday.  Saying "thank you" hardly seems adequate, but I don't know what else to say.  

Lastly, today is Hubs' birthday - not a very happy one, I'm afraid.  We will celebrate when things feel a bit less sad and in the meantime, I'll continue to just love him with all my heart.

xoxo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.