Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Romanesco

Happy birthday to my dear Hubs!  Tonight's dinner, prepared with love by moi, is seared sea scallops, delicata squash and oven-roasted Romanesco.  Followed by a berry cobbler, also baked by... moi!  Hubs, SIL and I will be celebrating his birthday quietly tonight which is exactly what he said he wanted.

Now, I have to tell you that I've only recently been introduced to the joys of Romanesco.  The local farm down the road from us is growing it this year and I suspect it will feature in more meals before the crop is exhausted.  Not only is it amazing to look at, but it has a delicious flavor when roasted.  

For this image, I used a tripod and my 50 mm lens with the romanesco in my little soft box with black background.  Two small lights on the side, diffused by the soft box.  Eleven images with minor adjustments in LR, then over to Helicon to focus stack.  I also tried it in mono, but found that I liked the color version better.  I am tagging this for NickiMags888's Still Life challenge.  As most of you know, I almost never do still life shots, so this is kind of a fun departure for me.  

Working through my fall doctor visits right now - ticked off the woman's wellness today.  Coming up:  mammogram, colonoscopy, bone density, physical, dermatologist.  Before our entire healthcare system tanks, I might as well get as much done as possible. 

When I got back from errands, visiting MIL and doctor, I found a huge flock of several hundred robins and waxwings in the cedar trees in our front yard.  The air was filled with the sounds of birds and I found myself standing outside in a cold drizzle just drinking in the sights and sounds.  Life's little moments...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.