Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Thrilled to bits!

That pretty much describes my reaction today when I spotted a rare Milbert's Tortoiseshell in the garden this morning, just as hubs and I were heading out.  I quickly snapped a couple of shots before jumping in the car.  I was secretly hoping it would still be around this afternoon ... and not only was I rewarded, but there was a second one as well.  TWO Milbert's!  I was able to sit on the patio next to a patch of flowers and get shots of both of them with a macro lens, after a bit of patient waiting.

These are uncommon butterflies in this part of the country; that said, there have been a number of sightings in the last few weeks in northern NJ and NY state, causing a lot of excitement in the butterflier community. I had one in my garden for a couple of days early last week, prompting requests from a couple of butterfliers from southern NJ to visit.  Unfortunately, the one that was here didn't stay around.  Both of the Milbert's I saw today looked very fresh, as you can see from this photo.  No faffing on this other than a crop of about 10%.  The sun was at a perfect angle and the butterfly was...well, flawless.

Thanks for the love on yesterday's Romanesco, and for all the birthday wishes for Hubs (he says thanks, as well).  I'm happy to report that there wasn't even one morsel of the funky looking vegetable left when we pushed away from the table last night.  For that matter, there was nothing left of the scallops or delicata either.  Feeling pretty pleased with myself.

Okay, I'm heading back out to see what else I can find in the garden.  It's a delightful 70 F today and tomorrow so I plan to take full advantage!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.