Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

738. TT75 - Died this day on the Somme....

My entry for Tiny Tuesday this week is a new coin I've bought my hubby for Christmas...(don't worry he never looks at my Blip so he's highly unlikely to see this!)....It's a silver proof commemorative coin for the Battle of the Somme.  Whilst we were in Belgium and France on our recent battlefield tour we visited Thiepval and whilst we were there we chatted to a Common Wealth War Graves Commission lady who was encouraging people to download the Thiepval app on our phones....it's an amazing app which tells you all about the battles and records the ward dead in great detail.  One of the nicest features is a search to see who died on this day and to read a little bit about them....
I found this chap - Geoffrey Henry Cadwallader Adams who was a second lieutenant with the Suffolk Regiment and he gave his life in battle on this day in 1916....aged only 20...younger than my youngest son...I cannot imagine his family's loss....
I thought it would be nice to give some context to the medal so added his portrait to the centre....his details are in the extra...do take a look at the Thiepval app if you are interested in learning more about the Somme as it is an excellent app......

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.