Michael

Coincidences are surprisingly common and today we had one in our extended family.

A 100 years ago on 1st November 1916 my would be uncle aged 18 died in Boulogne of his injuries suffered at  the battle of the Somme, and today 1st November 2016 His Lordship and I attended the funeral in Kirkcaldy  of his nephew, my cousin and Magpie's uncle. He will leave another gap in our generation and will be much missed by the family for his humour and positivity.

My cousin at 83 , an artist, teacher, cellist and jazz enthusiast lived a long fulfilled life denied to the boy soldier, and died in the general order of things.
There is a huge difference in perspective between having a life taken from you as a teenager in atrocious conditions and living so much longer than the 3 score years and ten of the Bible.

Today illustrates the relentless and inevitable passing of generations and as chronologically I may be next in line, I am conscious of the breeze of mortality blowing in my direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.