The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Zozulenka

What can I say? That this photo looked ok on my phone until I uploaded it and viewed it here?

I spent the evening at a Baptist Church in Stroud, viewing a performance of song and dance from Ukraine, from the talented group of young people called Zozulenka. They were performing to raise money for New Hope Ukraine, a Christian charity that sends volunteers and donations to Ukraine.
 
H is for hospitals
O is for orphanages
P is for prisons
E is for elderly, and evangelism, and lots of other things they keep adding on....

It sounds as if they're doing good work, according to the presentation given in the interval. As for the group, they were amazing! The first half consisted of songs and dances in the traditional Ukrainian style. The words were translated and put up on screen, which helped me understand more. 
The dancing was spirited and Cossack! Fabulous. So were the costumes.

The second half was more of a cheese-fest, with white costumes and True Colours/Rivers of Babylon/Do Re Mi/Thank you for the Music/You raise me up and some dance routines that reminded me of Top of the Pops 1978 (but NOT Legs & Co!). But the male singer sang Ben Mio Caro exquisitely. I felt very privileged to have been there. I had only found out about it this morning, when a Polish lady gave me a leaflet and said that her friend was organising the concert, but they were worried that no one would turn up!
They needn't have worried. The church was packed.

I've never been in that church before, and was much taken with the decor and style.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.