The Flower Shop

Shop Front is the topic for this week's Facebook Pic of the Week, and this, potentially is my entry. I'm not posting yet though, as I may have a better one lined up! I've included an extra of part of their display outside.

It's all decorated up to promote Poppy Day. Which is fair enough...But it seems odd to me. When I was little (Going back a bit I know!) we had Poppy Day, or Flag Day as it was also known, once a year and it was about WW2. Now, it seems like every month there is some war memorial, commemoration type event happening. And they are high profile and costly too. It is getting too much!

It is all very well to commemorate those who died in war, but let's not glorify it or remember it with a rosy nostalgic glow. And lets be very vigilant against the same ideas that they were fighting against back then take hold once again in modern times!

Off the soapbox now! 

I have been to visit my parents today. I'd thought I was meant to be doing something else and told them I wouldn't be able to make it. Then this morning I realised I had my days mixed up and could go after all. My Dad was surprised to see me, but pleased all the same, particularly as he had a tricky form he needed me to help with.

I have work tonight. I doubt it will be all that busy. I saw Lee on my way home and he said it is very quiet this week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.