The Victory Parade

 Today they were holding an open top bus parade through Lincoln for the County's Rio Olympians. On paper that is a great thing to do, but in reality I don't know why they bothered. Only four of the 12 potential athletes were able to (Or wanted to) be involved, and the people of the city were just as laissez faire about the whole thing. 

I went up to take some photographs on Monks Road. It was good that the local school got involved, as other than the children, there was me and an elderly couple. And I'd say it was well publicised previously. Obviously Friday morning is  not a good time as many people would be working.

This is Equestrian medallist Sophie Wells. She's the only one on the bus that I could actually see. She's smiling and waving, but I don't think she looks particularly happy. It must have been freezing up there, and for such a poor turnout, she could probably think of better places to be!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.