An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Backblip

I escaped the building work for the afternoon and met a friend for lunch in Cumbernauld, which is equidistant between her house and mine so was a good place to meet.

After a fairly mediocre lunch (the company made up for it though) we went our separate ways.  I was in no rush to get back to the mayhem so I went on a wee tour of my old haunts.

First port of all was our previous street.  So funny driving to our our house, the weird thing was it felt quite natural, like I'd never been away.  Everything in our street looks the same apart from our house.  They've replaced all the wood on the front of the house with fake wood, the maintenance free PVS stuff I think.  It's an odd colour, kind of orange brown, but I was pleased to see they're at least looking after the place.

After that I headed to Auchinstarry marina and the quarry (see extras).  The light was so lovely, I was really frustrated I didn't have my camera (I found it BTW.  It was on the bookshelves in the living room behind all the polythene)  I had intended to take it but got waylaid by the electrician just as I was about to leave the house and it went right out of my mind.

After that I went to see the new housing estate that my nephew and his girlfriend are hoping to secure a plot on.  That's where this shot is taken from.  

The estate winds round a disused quarry and the plots they are looking at have the most amazing views over the hills.   Of course it's very windy up there so not sure how much fun it would be sitting outside in the summer and they'd never be able to drive up or down that hill in snow and ice, but the view is the reward I suppose.

Final stop on the way home was the Colzium estate, where I took some photos of my favourite line of trees and the oldest purpose build curling pond in Scotland - see extras.


Did you know, "The first known curling club was founded in Kilsyth (Kilsyth Curling Club) in 1716 and is also thought to have the oldest curling pond that was built at Colzium Estate and still exists."  From here.   Well you do now :-)


Got home at 5pm to find the builders still hard at it.  Final push to get the place ready for the plasterers arriving tomorrow.  They finally left at 6.30pm.


David was out singing for his supper so it was a microwave chicken pasta bake for my tea then a doze on the chair.  Bliss ;-)))

PS Sorry that I didn't have time to pop in Anne but I was keen to get some photos while the light was still decent :D) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.