The Old Forge (Wednesday 2nd November 2016)

On Wednesdays my forest garden is now being tended by R., a gardener who seems to share the same sort of vision that I have for it, and this week I spent an hour or so chatting with her at the incinerator as we burned cuttings and small branches. Most of the trees were planted by me in the early nineties and I no longer know what several of them are.

I had rushed out to photograph my cotinus earlier in the morning, but in between seeing the light catching on the leaves and grabbing my camera, the sun had gone in, so instead I photographed this cotoneaster tree that now towers over me. Several trees bought as saplings, sometimes from Bowood's garden centre 'hospital' circa 1993, have now come of age, and are enjoying the extra light that R's cutting back has afforded them.

L.
3.11.2016 (1742 hr)

Blip #1959 (#2209 including 250 archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #000
Day #2414 (456 gaps from 26 March 2010)
LOTD #1194 (#1320 including 126 on archived blips)

Old Forge series
Flora series
Autumn series
Gardens series
Trees series

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Pentax HD P-DA 55-300mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Julia Jacklin - Coming of Age (2016)

One year ago:
Autumn In Chippenham

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.