Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

The beams are in

With the help of my wife, we got the new wood I-beams installed. They span almost eleven feet from wall to wall. I made them out of a one by four with one by twos on the top and bottom as flanges. Probably strong enough to hold the Queen Mary liner but better too much than too little. Once they were in I cut off the last two legs. We are ready for carpet.

When the carpet is done I will add on new legs on the right side of the opening. I bought heavy duty screw feet that will go on the bottom of the legs. This will allow me to adjust that end of the layout as the carpet squishes down under the screw feet. Also keep the track perfectly (I hope) level and lined up. Once the new "feet" are in place the beams come out and I can reinstall the swing door.

Then finally back to running trains and building scenery and buildings. I also will be sending a couple of Sn3 locos to the DCC installer for sound decoders. Probably the new Soundtraxx Sunami2s. Ya gotta make noise!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.