Mr Magpie.......

......is part of a large flock  of bolshi terrors...the kings of the surrounding trees and the neighbourhood. They take no prisoners and attack on whim....they had me crashing into the bushes and falling off of my bike a few years back......Jaiya thought I had had a brain snap and I had imagined being attacked (or made up an excuse for falling off of my bike)..... as she came around the corner on her bike to find me in the bushes...that was until the culprit flew out of the tree.

There is a sign at the end of our road encouraging folk to take alternative routes.....which is a bit silly as its the way of getting to the beach.

Anyhoo ....I got really close to this guy....I think he was curious about the black box I was pointing at him....he flew off when he realised it wasn't food I guess.
Butter wouldn't melt and all that...but I can tell you he belongs to a very large band of swooping terrors...definitely not to be messed with.

A day on the phone with Telcos again...still no joy on the internet front.....I lost my lolly at one point and had to shut myself in the garage so as not to disturb the neighbours whilst I shouted profanities down the phone at them......yikes!
They've probably put me on the black list forever now.
I felt like being a Magpie and  swooping down and giving them a good peck.........knock them off their Telco horsey.

'Rolls the sunrise around in his throat like pink beads of sunlight' that is the best description I have ever read about the way the sound the magpie makes.

“A magpie can be happy or sad: sometimes so happy that he sits on a high, high gum tree and rolls the sunrise around in his throat like beads of pink sunlight; and sometimes so sad that you would expect the tears to drip off his beak.
This magpie was like that.”

-Colin Thiele

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.