Josephine

Who lives to fight another day.
 
This morning I was house sitting for my daughter between 0800 hours and 1000 hours as the new glass and medium dog flap was being fitted to the conservatory door. My daughter normally works from home on Friday, but today had to go into the office. They do not have a dog, just a rather large cat (Sybil) that cannot get through a normal cat flap.
 
Last night I remembered that we have ‘home call-out’ for our cars and so once I had walked back home, I telephoned them. As it was a home call-out they could be anything up to ninety minutes, which was fine as I was not going anywhere; thirty minutes later a huge lorry appeared, with facilities for taking her to a garage. However, using an enormous battery he started it almost immediately. Despite us charging the battery and using jump leads the battery did not have enough power and it also had a dodgy terminal; the battery was four or five years old. At 1100 hours, once he had gone I telephoned our nearby garage where she goes for service and MOT and took her in; at 1500 hours she was home again. A new heavy-duty battery had been fitted and the terminal replaced.
 
Today’s picture is of Josephine, before I took her to the garage; she was going to be my blip today, whether she could be fixed or not. I always park her so that she is ready to go out of the gates. However, as you can see, she is on a very slight slope and it seems that the diesel drains down and while it is being pumped up again the life is taken out of the battery. There is also a manual pump, which you can use when it is very cold to pump up the diesel; not something I knew in the sixteen and a half years I have had her.

I have got wet several times today, as it has been raining on and off all day; it has also been quite cold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.