A glorious afternoon!

I was hoping to go somewhere to record the sunlight on the wonderful autumn colours, but what with one thing and another it was later afternoon before I got out with the camera, so I went up Pulpit Hill instead. For those who don't know Oban this is a rather desirable part of the town to live in - so they say - and the viewpoint has a great outlook over the harbour and the town. I was surprised to find nobody else up there as it was so beautiful - the town was lit up in the late sunshine and the 'Isle of Mull' was just leaving. As I watched, the 'Clansman', back from Colonsay, edged her way into harbour just beneath me, partly hidden by the trees.

I had difficulty choosing which picture to Blip as there was so much going on and the light was so good. I eventually chose this one of the 'Isle of Mull' steaming out of the bay after the 'Ronja Skye', a live fish carrier registered in Ålesund, in Norway. Some speedy little boat is coming in, but I couldn't see what she was.

On the right is Dunollie Castle, and on the left the 4-acre island of Rudh-A-Chruidh, attached to the end of the island of Kerrera by a causeway, accessible at high tide. The island, complete with a new house and a helipad, is on the market for offers over £950,000 - I think it's still for sale. In the centre is Maiden's Isle and behind that, the long green strip which is the island of Lismore. Behind that are the mountains of Mull. So altogether a beautiful place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.