Behind the Blue Door

We awoke to a sunny morning, but by the time I was up and about it had begun to change. We decided to walk down to the library anyway, but by the time we'd descended to sea level it had begun to rain lightly, so we took refuge in Waterstone's bookshop. As ever, there were many wonderful books on offer, but I hate to say that paying £20 for a book I would only read once is just too much, however much I support the sale of Real Books.

On the way back my attention was caught by the blue door at the back of what used to be the English-speaking breakaway branch of the Free Church of Scotland. It was closed in 1984 after mergers and demergers too numerous to mention, became a nightclub, then the Tourist Information Office but is now empty and for sale. The sign on the door is almost too small to read, but says 'Please ring for attention'.  I think you might have to wait for some time as the door obviously hasn't been opened for a while!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.