A Honking Wedge

I had just got outside with the camera this morning intent on shooting macro when I heard them honking. I swapped lenses and managed to capture twenty-seven geese as they flew over.

I would call this a skein of geese but have read that it's a wedge. I'm not keen on that term.

It has been raining here for most of the day. I went to Fishers Green planning to shoot from a hide. The Longlands hide was deserted, even though the feeders were full. All I got was a female pheasant, unusually up a tree. Wonder who decided to cut down all the bushes where the tweety birds used to sit?

I moved to The Bittern Hide and captured a water rail and a great crested grebe catching a fish. I also got a very bedraggled ring-necked parakeet perched in the willow. This weather doesn't suit these exotic birds. None of these pics were suitable for posting as the light was too poor. :(   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.