Field Maple Fireworks

Everybody loves a bonfire. MrQ, Jazzy dog and I have had one this evening. Unfortunately it was a bit of damp squib as it was made up of green branches that MrQ has been clearing. I was hoping that I might see some fireworks to tog while we were down the field. We could hear many but couldn't see them. :(

I'm a bit sad that Guy Fawkes Night has been overshadowed by Hallowe'en in recent years. Our family has always enjoyed it, in fact I had a text message from my daughter saying that my son-in-law wished he could have joined us this evening to play with fire.

In the absence of fireworks I've had to revert to plan B. I shot some field maple leaves catching the light in the golden hour. It's my favourite tree, indigenous and has a simple beauty. In my view it's as beautiful as any of the exotic introductions in arboreta. In a nod to Guy Fawkes I've added a couple of clumsy firework overlays to my image. :)   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.