Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Nash Point Milky Way

Whilst waiting for Mrs BB to finish her swim after my visit to the dentist, I opened my e-mails to find out I hadn't won a free holiday with Viking Cruises with my photo entry to their competition, but I had won a £50 Amazon Voucher and my photo would be in their 2017 calendar and they would use my photograph for future publicity purposes. We had their excellent 2016 calendar so it'll be nice to see my photo in the 2017 edition.. We are sailing with them again in April 2017, so I will try harder next year!

We then drove to Brecon for a walk along the canal which was very relaxing, the scenery stunning and the fresh air cleared the head. No sooner had we finished and got back to the car, than my photo buddy rang wanting me to go out with him to photograph the Milky Way at Nash Point Lighthouse, Monknash, on the South Wales coast. Mrs BB gave me the nod of approval and I sped home to get ready.

Early evening we were in a pitch black field at the rear of the lighthouse, pointing our cameras in the direction of where our Star Walk phone app showed us The Milky Way was. It's rarely visible to the naked eye, especially in the UK.

The blip photo shows the lighthouse with the Milky Way above it. I never tire of photographing the stars. They put everything in perspective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.