Unconnected

Playing tennis does not feature on my CV. Apart from being height challenged to the point of having difficulty seeing over the net, I have a spatial problem with objects flying at me through the air which I don't have when they come along the ground to me.
I liked playing hockey, but I never could hit tennis balls or shuttlecocks. A lot of the time I should have been on the tennis courts at school games afternoons, I was hunkered down with like minded friends out of sight of the games mistress, eyeing up the boys at our brother school as they played cricket in their whites.

Nevertheless, I love watching Wimbledon, especially Andy Murray. I know he is like Marmite to a lot of people who embraced the suave Home Counties golden boy, Tim Henman. Andy is not in the same debonair league - too homegrown Scottish-and will never be forgiven by many south of the border for his untimely 'any team but England' remark, a remark said in jest as we all have done at times.
He has grown up a lot since then and knows not to make that sort of locker room joke any more, or to indulge in racket throwing on court tantrums.

I hope now with his becoming #1 in the tennis world everyone can laud the hard work and strength of character that has propelled him from the small Scottish town of Dunblane to the heady heights of sport.

Should anyone see a connection between my early morning blip of this University building bordering Middle Meadow Walk and my blog, please feel free to let me know- completely unconnected, just like my racket and the tennis ball.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.