This Little Piggy....

First snow sleet of the season in the area our garden today! 

It has been lovely having #2 Daughter home this weekend. I think I forgot to say, she came down to go with The Man to our boat AGM to represent me as I had accidentally booked myself into a craft fair.

This morning we had our last chat in Cafe Oswald's before she got on her train.

On our way back home we called in at Rheged to see the Cumbrian Artist of The Year Exhibition to see what I need to aspire to next year! Kat Prior's entry was the focal point in the entrance hall. 

1000 Plaster of Paris pigs making a statement about mass farming. This is what she says:-

Why I am making the work
The piece hopes to encourage people to consider their relationship with food.
This is an issue close to my heart as I believe that there are big problems with the relationship we have with our food. We no longer need to produce our own food so we no longer necessarily know where it has come from or how it was produced. 
This I feel is a big problem especially when it comes to the meat industry. We don't often know where the meat has come from in the world, in what conditions the animal has been living in, what is has eaten and how it has been treated. 

By facing the audience with a representation of a factory farm I hope to encourage them to really consider how the animals we eat are raised. The pig sculptures are all physically deformed as they have all been crammed into a small space, what happens to a pig’s life, its meat and our world when real life pigs are "crammed" together?
I will be asking the audience to record how they feel about the artwork and the food industry. I want to find out if they think the food industry needs to change and if so, what this change should be.
I am also using the piece to raise money for the charity Farms Not Factories.
Each pig sculpture will be on sale at Rheged and 80% of the money raised will be going straight to Farms Not Factories
(Kat Prior.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.