dreaming

By dreaming

Old times

This is the entrance to the portion of Seattle's InterUrban Trail that begins in my neighborhood and runs north.  I chose it for Mono Monday because it has an old-timey feel that looks right in monotone.  The extra shows a portion of the trail itself, with a cyclist.  This trail is used primarily by cyclists because it is paved and offers little of interest to any other than casual walkers.  Seattle also has the wonderful Burke-Gilman trail, which runs north and south on the far east side of the city and is surrounded by plants, trees, bushes and wild flowers its whole length.

I had my hair cut today and asked Jenny if she had voted.  She is a Vietnamese immigrant who works long hours in her shop.  She said she wasn't planning to vote because she didn't think it made much difference.  She said she liked Hillary, her husband liked Trump because he might fix the economy, but neither cared enough to vote.  I think by the time I left she was planning to vote; she'd had no idea when Election Day was or that there were neighborhood ballot boxes, but I filled her in.

This came as a real shock to me.  Everyone I know personally has voted already, and they've all voted for Hillary.  It hadn't really hit me that millions of Americans who have a great deal to lose (such as Asian immigrants) if Trump is elected haven't informed themselves about what's at stake and taken this election seriously.  It's scary.

Well, we'll all know tomorrow night, and I hope the good prevails for once.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.