Some Reflections on Election Day

Dear Diary,

I feel strangely calm this morning.  It started yesterday afternoon when I went to visit my pond.  The quiet, the gentle reflections and even the jet heading up and up above combined to give me a sense of peace and resolve.  No matter what happens today we as a nation have a long road ahead of us because whether we like it or not we are all on the same road, the same journey.

This time tomorrow, half of our citizens will be disappointed and perhaps angry with the result.  We must remember that even though we may disagree with their vision of America they are still our brother and sister citizens.  If we don't find a way to pull together we will be pulled apart and the great experiment that is the United States of America will fail.  We can't allow this to happen.

My little church is opening it's doors today for those who wish to seek solace inside and there is labyrinth and a meditation trail to walk.  I will be heading over there this afternoon.  It seems a good way to pass the time. No matter how this day ends we must find a way forward...together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.