Overcoming Fear

Dear Diary,
 
I am writing this at 4 am.  There was no sleep for me tonight I am afraid.  I have no words to convey the horror I feel about Donald Trump as president.  This is a SoulCollage© card I made a while back and it seemed the most appropriate image I could use today.
 
All I can think about is that little boy in a wheel chair who was booed and attacked at a Trump rally on Saturday where he went to protest Trump’s mocking of a reporter with disabilities. He and his mother were thrown out to the cheers of the crowd.  I have never felt more ashamed to be an American when I saw how this little boy with cerebral palsy was treated.  And I couldn’t have been more proud to see how President Obama welcomed him at his rally for Hillary; what joy there was on his face because he felt valued and respected.  But this morning we live in a different America, an America where a man endorsed by the KKK and the American Nazi Party is now president.
 
It is a sad day for the country I love and all I can say is I need some time to process all of this and come to terms with it.  I am afraid, deeply afraid, for America.  What must the world be thinking about us now?  That shining beacon of hope and light in the world has turned dark and hateful.  I can only pray now…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.