Light and Shadow

Dear Diary,

Please bear with me as I spend one more day dealing with the immense sadness that the events this week have engendered in me.  But I am, by nature, an optimistic person.  I believe that things that happen in our lives are never as good as we had hoped for or as bad as we had feared.  The truth usually lies somewhere in the middle.

I know most of us only see the shadows right now which is easy since they seem to be all around us.  They are easier to see, I think, because they demand our attention.  But the light is always there because if it wasn't there would be no shadows, every photographer knows that.  Shadows need the contrast of the light to exist.  When something blocks the light we get a shadow.  I will choose to look at the light; I choose to be the light that contrasts their shadows.  That doesn't mean I will not actively and forcefully call out those who will want to spread hate, lies and divisiveness at every opportunity, I will.  I will not use their words or their ways but I will speak my mind and I will speak with conviction.  Those who believe in fairness, justice and diversity don't always win but we are always right.  

Until the great mass of the people shall be filled with the sense of responsibility for each other's welfare, social justice can never be attained.  - Helen Keller

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.